Griffith College Logo

Students From Across the Country Participate in Legal Debating Competition

The winning team from the 2019 Griffith College Legal Debating Competition

Students attended the annual Griffith College competition on Thursday, 21 March.

On the day, teams debated the motion, “This House believes that the electorate for the Presidency should be extended to voters outside of Ireland.”

Teams consisted of four members; each had the opportunity to speak between 3-5 minutes, either proposing or opposing the motion.

In the lead up to the competition, students were asked to prepare and submit a 1,000-word essay on the above and to present on the day. Once the shortlisted schools had presented, they were narrowed down to two remaining finalists. The finalists then engaged in an intense debate, either proposing or opposing the motion, “This House supports the introduction of a universal basic income.”

Finalists on the day were Patrician Secondary School, Newbridge and Naas CBS, with Patrician taking the title for a third year in a row. Students from the Patrician Griffin Ennis, Glen McLoughlin, Daniel Cocieru and Ben Duffield were presented with a glass plaque as well as four medals to acknowledge their achievement. Naas CBS students included Daniel Connolly, Hugh Barrett, Aman Abadi and Daragh O’Shaughnessy.

Head of Law at Griffith College Karen Sutton said, “The Schools Debating Competition allows students an opportunity to develop their research, drafting and communication skills, in a structured and collegial environment. This year’s entries were of a particularly high calibre with all participants demonstrating their enthusiasm, commitment and potential, as they continue their studies. The Faculty of Law were delighted to once again host this event and we commend all the participants, their teachers and supporters. We look forward to hosting the event for many years to come.”