Griffith College Logo

Griffith College hosts the 2017 LSMD Excellence Awards

Luke Dempsey LSMD Awards


Griffith College Dublin recently celebrated another successful hosting of this year's Leinster School of Music & Drama Excellence Awards. Awards on the night went to Eva Acheson, overall winner in the Speech & Drama category, as well as Luke Dempsey who came out on top in Music. There were also awards given for contestants placed 2nd to 4th with Amy Coughlin, Erin Healy and Laura Kelly respectively being recognised for their achievements in Speech & Drama, and Ciara Taheny, Robert Staunton and Clodagh Barrett awarded for Music.  

Launched in 2004 to mark the school’s centenary year, the LSMD Excellence Awards is open to the 15,000 students throughout Ireland who took the school’s exams in the last year. The top 520 students who participated in the LSMD exams are chosen to compete in the Excellence Awards and finalists are chosen from this group to perform at the Excellence Awards Concert which takes place annually in Griffith College. There is an Excellence Award for both music and speech & drama with the winners in each category receiving a coveted trophy and cheque for €300.

Commenting on the awards, Karen Casey, Head of Faculty of The Leinster School of Music & Drama at Griffith College, said; “This year’s Excellence Awards at Griffith College showcased the very best in talent across the areas of music and speech & drama. We are delighted to see these students and teachers recognised for their outstanding commitment to these disciplines and would like to wish them the very best of luck for the future in their chosen fields,”.

Previous winners of the Excellence Awards/LSMD students include comedian Al Porter, Voice UK Finalist Lucy O'Byrne and broadcaster Laura Whitmore.

Eva Acheson LSMD Awards