International Accreditation

European Bologna System

Griffith College is proud to be a part of the European Union (EU) European Bologna Process, which is currently implemented in 47 EU states. This system was created in order to facilitate international mobility for students and graduates in addition to offering wider access to high-quality third level education

European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS)

Griffith College students are awarded ECTS credits in accordance with the European Bologna system, which enables greater student mobility across international institutions and also aids curriculum design and quality assurance. ECTS is central to the internationalisation of higher education across Europe. It has become a key tool in the Bologna Process.

Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI)

The College's academic programmes are validated by Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI), which is the internationally-recognised Irish government degree-awarding body. Their role is to promote, maintain and develop the Irish National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ), a 10-level framework for the development, recognition and awarding of qualifications in Ireland. They also ensure that higher education providers offering national qualifications provide a positive, high-quality experience to international learners coming to study in Ireland. They do this by authorising the International Education Mark (IEM), a quality mark for international education.  They also establish a code of practice for providers offering courses to international learners. We are responsible for promoting, maintaining, and developing the National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ).

National Qualifications Framework

The  National Qualifications Framework describes qualifications in the Irish education and training system and sets out what each qualification says about what learners know, understand and are able to do. Ireland’s NFQ sits within a wider European context. Qualifications on Ireland’s NFQ can be easily compared to those of other European countries using the 8-level European Qualifications Framework (EQF). By doing this, learners can be assured that their education and training achievements can be recognised both at home and abroad. The European Higher Education Area (EHEA) aims to facilitate cooperation between systems, institutions and individual staff and students throughout Europe. Ireland’s NFQ is compatible with the Qualifications Framework (QF) for the EHEA. This means that higher education and training qualifications from Ireland are consistent with the EHEA bachelor, master and doctorate programmes.