Griffith College Logo

Griffith College Finalists in the 2017 SMEDIAs


Our Journalism & Media faculty students always have a fantastic presence in the finalist list for the National Student Media Awards (SMEDIAs) and this year is no different with 19 individuals and groups nominated in 13 categories.

  • Media students make up 25% of nominations in journalistic writing categories
  • Film and TV students make up 75% of nominee places
  • Radio production and documentary students make up 20% of nominee places 
  • 9 photography students nominated across the 3 photography categories
    (Source: Griffith Digitial)

Small College/Society Publication Of The Year:

  • SK. Ahmed Zibnan Shovon, Emmet McCabe

Short Story Of The Year:

  • Laura Calleja

RSA Award For Journalism On Road Safety:

  • John Anderson Jnr
  • Swathe Shanmugaraj

TV Production Of The Year:

  • Split Flea Market

Sports Photographer Of The Year:

  • Chiara Corbatto
  • David Lowsly
  • Jack Lyons
  • John Carroll

News Photographer Of The Year:

  • Anita Bitencourt
  • Max Rooney

Photographer Of The Year:

  • Emil Loven
  • John Carroll
  • Orla Keogh

Radio Production Of The Year- News & Current Affairs:

  • Drivetime On 107.8 Griff FM

Radio Production Of The Year- Arts & Features:

  • Drivetime On 107.8 Griff FM

Radio Documentary Of The Year:

  • Eadaoin Fitzmaurice

Radio DJ Of The Year:

  • Fiona McCluskey

Best of luck to all of our finalists!