Griffith College Logo

Griffith College Students in the 2017 SMEDIAs

Student Media Awards 2017

Congratulations to the 31 Griffith College media faculty students who have been shortlisted in 13 categories for this year’s annual national student media awards, The Smedias 2017. The Smedias act like the Oscars of Irish student media, and many a career has been launched on the back on winning and getting shortlisted or nominated.

With four more categories yet to be announced (Small College/Society Publication of the Year; Magazine of the Year; News Photographer of the Year; Photographer of the Year, Irish Times Student Hub) Griffith students as ever, are punching way above their weight in comparison to the bigger student populations in other colleges.

In previous years, Griffith College students from the Faculty of Journalism & Media Communications dominated nominations in categories such as photography and video; for example, in 2016 across 13 categories, 19 students were in the final list of nominations and the year before, Griffith College students took six overall Student of the Year prizes.

April 6th will see prizes for Student of the Year in all categories being distributed at a gala awards ceremony in the Aviva Stadium. Fingers crossed and best of luck to all.

Here are the Griffith College media faculty students shortlisted for The Smedias 2017:

Journalist of the Year

  • Stephen Sharpe

Magazine Layout and Design of the Year

  • SK. Ahmed Zibnan Shovon, Emmet McCabe

Journalism Relating to Road Safety Award

  • John Anderson Jnr
  • Swathe Shanmugaraj
  • Daniel Bright
  • Peter Comiskey

Short Story of the Year

  • John Anderson Jnr
  • Laura Calleja

Short Film of the Year

  • Robert Morrissey

TV Production of the Year

  • Laura Leonard

Blog/Vlog of the Year

  • Lauren Cassidy

Website of the Year

  • Laura Leonard

Sports Photographer of the Year

  • David Lowsley 
  • Barnett Antony Gomez
  • Mira Kalliomaki
  • Jack Lyons
  • Chiara Corbatto
  • John Carroll

Radio DJ of the Year

  • Fiona McCuskey

Radio Documentary of the Year

  • Eadaoin Fitzmaurice 

Radio Production of the Year Arts and Features

  • Emmet Banahan, Shovy Zibran, Jordan Sweeney, Sadbh Maguire, John Ross Delahunt, Matthieu Dumas, Jimmy Campbell and Conor Fay 

Radio Production of the Year News and Current Affairs

  • Padraig Ryan, and Brendan O’Donohue